Saturday, February 22, 2014

1960s Blog Hall of Fame Results (#5)

Congratulations to Lou Brock, on his induction into the 1960s Blog Hall of Fame. He joins the 21 players and 1 manager shown below.

There were 18 votes this time. Former Braves teammates Eddie Mathews and Warren Spahn each missed induction by 1 vote.  Yankees' pitcher Whitey Ford missed induction by 2 votes. Frankly, I'm surprised that these 3 players were not slam-dunks on their first ballot. Still, this is the highest percentage each has received in their 4 times on the ballot.

First-timers Frank Howard and Boog Powell each received 38% of the votes. Jim Bunning, Orlando Cepeda, Roger Maris, and Ron Santo increased their percentage slightly, while Rod Carew stayed the same, and Billy Williams lost ground since last time.

Nobody received less that the minimum 15% to be retained for the next ballot, so they will all be back for another try.

1 comment:

Commishbob said...

Matthews, Ford and Spahnie should be no-brainers.